About Us


Our mission is to recognize today’s Georgia radio professionals as well as the pioneers who shaped radio in the state, since March 15, 1922, when the first radio station in the state signed on the air. The Georgia Radio Hall Of Fame is dedicated to the preservation of written and oral Georgia radio history.


Our organization is operated by volunteers. There is no compensation for any officers or board members. The organization is member supported. Operational expenses are kept to a bare minimum because of donated office space, utilities, and clerical work.  Our annual event usually breaks even or leaves a few dollars for operational expenses such as storage, postage, supplies, fees, web site hosting, and occasional professional services.  


John Long - President/Co-Founder   (view bio)

Steve Hill - Vice President  (view bio)

Janice Taylor Scott  - Treasurer/Board of Directors (view bio)

Bob Harrison - Board of Directors (view bio) 

Mike Roberts - Board of Directors ( view bio)

Mamie Shepherd ( view bio)

Deanna Brown Thomas - Board of Directors (view bio)


Don Benson 2010 - 2013

Harley Drew  Founding Board Member 2007 - 2011 

Eddie Esserman 2011 - 2013

Herb Emory 2012 - 2014

Paul "Sebastian" Evatt Founding Board Member 2007 - 2009 

Sam Hale  Cofounder/ Founding Board Member 2007 - 2010

  Larry James - Founding Board Member - 2007 - 2008  

Rhubarb Jones Board Member - 2007 - 2014

 Mike Kavanagh - Founding Board Member  2007  

 Nelle Reagan 2009 - 2011 

Ben Sandifer - Secretary - 2009- 2015

Jim Steele -Treasurer 2009 - 2011

Jeff Walker 2011 - 2013

Jim Wesley 2012 - 2014

John Young  Founding Board Member - 2007-2009

The Georgia Radio Hall Of Fame is a Georgia non profit corporation and a  501 (c) (3) organization.

© Georgia Radio Hall Of Fame Corporation, 2015